Essenza – The Essence of Motorcycles
Pure bikes. No dragsters. Two wheels. Two cylinders. Maximum 1200 cc. These are the key facts of the most exciting sprint challenge in 2017.

Usually in 1/8 mile sprints, DIY mechanics, hobby racers and small racing teams compete against each other. Head to head, the loser is kicked out. A familiar concept. The new sprint series Essenza goes one step further. Essenza calls the motorcycle manufacturers and importers into the arena. BMW vs. Indian. Battling with Kawasaki and Suzuki. Essenza is looking for a direct comparison of the motorcycle manufacturer and the talented independent teams – a couple of motorsports enthusiasts and custom motorcycle builders who join this professional league. In total: 16 motorcycles.

With a maximum of two cylinders and no more than 1200 cc displacement. The 1/8 mile sprints will take place twice this year: 10 – 11 June at the Caferacer Festival Montlhery in France and on 1 – 3 September at Glemseck 101 in Leonberg. All participants design their vehicles in cooperation with popular bike builders to create individual puristic pieces. The 16 bikes will also enter a design competition: judged by a professional jury and by the public. Eventually, there will be two winners at Essenza: the fastest motorcycle and the best designed bike.

Essenza_Zwischenbilder
Essenza_Zwischenbilder2

The Design. The design competition is not about a tenth of a second. What counts are the best looks.

The design competition is not about a tenth of a second. What counts are the best looks. On top of their performance, all participating Essenza bikes will also be judged in terms of their design. The motorcycles can be seen live at the Caferacer Festival Montlhery and at Glemseck 101  – gathered at the Essenza booth ot the stands of the owners. Between the two events, the 16 custom motorcycles will take part in a design competition, judged by a professional jury and by the public.

In the public voting, everyone can vote for his or her favorite. The professional jury consists of journalists, customizers and designers. Both votes are counted 50/50 for the final evaluation. And who knows how much Essenza will contribute to the future production of series motorcycles.

160527_ES_Website_Zwischenbild_50_50

The Events. Two important events for a thrilling sprint.

The 1/8 mile sprint starts at two high-end events. First step takes place on 10 – 11 June 2017, at the open-air grounds of the Caferacer Festival Montlhery in France. Between authentic paddock athomosphere and breathtaking steep turn the Essenza races will be one of the highlights. By the way: The Caferacer Festival is located just 30 kms from the vibrant city of Paris.

A few weeks later, we enter the next round. On 3 September at the Solitude Racetrack in Leonberg as part of Glemseck 101, the largest multi-brand and type-independent motorcycle open-air festival in Germany. Like last year the Essenza runs are considerd to be the climax of the sprint races taking place at Glemseck 101.

Essenza_Zwischenbilder4

Contact

Essenza – The Essence of Motorcycles
Pure Bikes. No Dragsters. Zwei Räder. Zwei Zylinder. Maximal 1200 ccm. So lauten die Eckdaten der spannendsten Sprint-Challenge des Jahres 2017.

Bei 1/8 Mile-Sprints treten für gewöhnlich Schrauber, Hobbyracer und private Rennteams gegeneinander an. Mann gegen Mann. Wer verliert, fliegt raus. So kennen wir das. Die Sprintserie Essenza geht einen Schritt weiter. Essenza ruft die Motorradhersteller und -importeure in den Ring. BMW gegen Indian. Im Duell gegen Kawasaki und Suzuki. Und weil Essenza den direkten Vergleich der Motorradhersteller zu begabten Privatteams sucht, gesellen sich eine Riege sportbegeisterter Customizer in die Profiliga. Alles in allem 16 Motorräder. Mit maximal zwei Zylindern und nicht mehr als 1200 ccm Hubraum.

Gestartet wird der 1/8 Mile-Sprint am 10. und 11. Juni 2017 beim Café Racer Festival Montlhery in Frankreich und am 1. September 2017 beim Glemseck 101 in Leonberg. Alle Teilnehmer gestalten ihre Fahrzeuge in Kooperation mit bekannten Bike Buildern zu extrem puristischen Einzelstücken. In der Zeit zwischen den beiden Veranstaltungen stellen sich die 16 individuell gestalteten Motorräder einer Fach- und Publikumsjury zum Designwettbewerb. Über eine Voting-Funktion auf der Essenza-Website kann jeder seinen persönlichen Favoriten bestimmen. Und am Ende gewinnt bei Essenza nicht nur das schnellste, sondern auch das schönste Motorrad.

Essenza_Zwischenbilder
Essenza_Zwischenbilder2

Das Design. Beim Designwettbewerb geht es nicht um Zehntelsekunden. Hier zählt allein der coolste Auftritt.

Unter allen teilnehmenden Essenza-Bikes wird nicht nur die höchste Performance, sondern auch die beste Formgestaltung gewertet. Live und in Farbe zu sehen gibt es die Motorräder beim Caféracer Festival von Montlhery und beim Glemseck 101 – versammelt auf dem Essenza-Stand oder den Ständen der jeweiligen Rennteilnehmer. In der Zeit zwischen den beiden Veranstaltungen stellen sich die 16 individuell gestalteten Motorräder einer Fach- und Publikumsjury zum Designwettbewerb. Beim Public-Voting kann jeder seinen Design-Favoriten küren.

Darüber hinaus trifft eine Fachjury ihre eigene Wahl. Darunter Matteo Adreani von The Reunion aus Italien, Bertrand Bussillet von Café Racer Festival aus Frankreich und Jörg Litzenburger von Glemseck 101 aus Deutschland.  Die Preisverleihung und Nominierungen von beiden Votings finden am 02. September in Glemseck 101 statt.

160527_ES_Website_Zwischenbild_50_50

Die Events. Zwei bedeutende Veranstaltungen für einen mitreißenden Sprint.

Gestartet wird der 1/8 Mile-Sprint je an zwei Terminen im Rahmen von zwei Highend-Veranstaltungen. Beim Caféracer Festival im geschichtsträchtigen Autodrom von Montlhery in Frankreich finden die ersten spannenden Läufe der Essenza-Sprintserie statt. Zwischen atemberaubender Steilkurve und authentischer Fahrerlageratmosphäre werden die Essenza-Läufe zu den Hauptattraktionen der kaum 30 Kilometer von Paris entfernten Veranstaltung zählen.

Die zweite Runde der Essenza Sprints findet beim Glemseck 101 an der Solitude-Rennstrecke in Leonberg statt, dem größten marken- und typenübergreifenden Motorrad-Open-Air-Festival in Deutschland. Wie im vergangenen Jahr gilt Essenza als das Highlight der dort ausgetragenen Sprintrennen.

Essenza_Zwischenbilder4

Kontakt